Science and Universities - 7 July 2022

The Foundation Future Leaders visited Loughborough University to explore how science and reseasrch are carried out in univerisites, and the leadership challenges involved. The programme was:

09:15 – 09:50

How universities support innovation and work with businesses - Dr Jen Fenson (Director of Research and Enterprise)

10:00 – 10:50

What is the REF and what does it mean for universities  - Professor Lisanne Gibson (Dean of Social Sciences and Humanities)

11:00 – 11:50

Tour of STEMLab and Stewart Miller Facilities

12:00 – 12:50

How universities work with government - Graham Hitchen (Associate Dean of Enterprise – Loughborough University London)

13:00 – 13:55


14:00 – 14:50

How university works - in the life of a Senior Lecturer - Dr Ashleigh Filtness (Senior Lecturer of Human Factors in Transport Safety)

15:00 – 15:50

VC Meeting: Challenges of running universities, current issues, leadership in academia - Professor Nick Jennings (Vice Chancellor and President)

Science and Parliament - 15 June 2022

The Foundation Future Leaders visisted Parliament and discussed how Parliament accesses and uses science evidence and expertise in its work, including the work of the Parliamenatry Office for Sciencen and Technology, the Select Committees and the Libraries. The programme was:

12:00 – 13:15

Guided Tour of the Houses of Parliament

13:30 – 14:00


14:00 – 14:20

How Parliamentarians access science and evidence - Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Labour MP for Southampton Test and Shadow Minister (Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy).

14:20 – 15:00

Parliamentary Office for Science and Technology (POST) - Naomi Saint– Knowledge Exchange Manager, Parliamentary Office for Science and Technology

15:15 – 16:00

Work of the House of Commons Select Committee on Science and Technology - Rt Hon Greg Clark MP, Conservative MP for Tunbridge Wells and Chair of the House of Commons Select Committee for Science and Technology

16:00 – 16:30

Science and Technology in the House of Lords - Viscount Stansgate, Labour Peer

Science and industry - 10 May 2022

The Foundation Future Leaders held an online meeting on 10 May and discussed the challenges of large industries and small high-tech start ups, and the support given to industry via Innvate UK. The programme was:

09:30 –10:15

Annette Doherty, SVP Product Development & Supply, GSK

10:30 – 11:15

Paul Mason, Director, Innovation Policy, UKRI

11:30 – 12:15

Hitesh Sanganee, Head of Emerging Innovations, AstraZeneca

12:30 – 13:15

Professor Rameen Shakur, Founder and Chair, Cambridge Heartwear

Science and Government - 30 March 2022

On 30 March, the Foundation Future Leaders met in London to discuss how science is used by, and funded by,  Government. The schedule was:

10:00 – 10:50

The Role of The Government Office for Science - Chris Pook, Deputy Director, Science & Innovation, Systems and Capability, Government Office for Science

11:00 – 11:50

Current issues in UK Science and Technology - Professor Sarah Main, Director of CASE

12:00 – 13:00

The role of a Chief Scientific Adviser - Professor Sarah Sharples, Chief Scientific Adviser, Department for Transport

13:00 – 14:00


14:00 – 14:50

An introduction to UKRI and how the UK government funds science - Dr Neil Robinson, Private Secretary to the Executive Chair, EPSRC

15:00 – 15:50

Current political issues in UK science - Rt Hon Lord (David) Willetts, former Science Minister and Chair of the Foundation for Science and Technology

Announcement of Foundation Future Leaders 2022

We are delighted to announce the Foundation Future Leaders for 2022. With over 120 applications from a huge range of organisations, it was an incredibly tough decision. 

The Foundation Future Leaders programme brings together a cohort of around 30 mid-career professionals over the course of a year, with approximately 10 representatives each from the research community, industry, and the civil service and wider public sector. Over a 12-month period, the group meet and discuss with senior figures from government, parliament, universities, large industry, SMEs, research charities and others. Just as importantly, Future Leaders present their own expertise, develop skills and make future contacts. The programme includes external visits and the development of an annual conference for a wider group of mid-career future leaders in science, technology, research and innovation.

The 2022 Foundation Future Leaders are:  




Dr Gokhan Bakan

Senior Research Scientist

National Physical Laboratory (NPL)

Mr Tom Bell

Strategy Manager

National Nuclear Laboratory

Ms Beth Bragg

Human Factors Specialist

National Nuclear Laboratory

Mr Hassan Butt

Grad Innovation Analyst

HS2 Ltd

Mr Howie Chau

Systems Engineer

Connected Places Catapult

Dr Thomas Davey

Senior Experimental Officer

FloWave, The University of Edinburgh

Mr Pete Dyson

Principal Behavioural Scientist

Department for Transport

Dr Peter El Hajj

Head of Delivery - National Digital Twin programme

Centre for Digital Built Britain 

Dr Alexander Elliott

Research Fellow

Cranfield University

Mr Massimiliano Fasi

Assistant Professor

Durham University

Dr Ashleigh Filtness

Senior Lecturer of Human Factors in Transport Safety

Loughborough University

Mr Daniel Garbutt

Senior Engineering Manager

Radioactive Waste Management

Miss Gabi Gorringe

Programme Reporting and Analysis Manager

National Physical Laboratory (NPL)

Dr Louise Hazeland

Head of Science Capability and Strategy, Chief Scientific Adviser's Office

Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy

Mr Thomas Hornigold

Policy Analyst

House of Lords Science and Technology Committee

Mr Mark Jacob

Head of 25 Year Environment Plan Outcome Indicators Team

Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs

Dr Hermine Landt-Wilman

Assistant Professor (Research) & Daphne Jackson Fellow

Durham University

Dr Horia Maior

Assistant Professor in Computer Science

University of Nottingham

Dr Elizabeth Moyce

UKIMEA Research Development Manager


Mr Awais Munawar

Visualisation Theme Lead

National Manufacturing Institute Scotland

Dr Maria Nelson-Clarke

Senior Partnerships Manager

Williams Advanced Engineering

Dr Amy Nommeots-Nomm

Deep-tech Analyst

Octopus Ventures

Dr Denise O'Sullivan

Science Leader

National Measurement Laboratory (NML), LGC

Dr Lara Phillips

Head of Research Talent

Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy

Dr Katie Raymer

Policy Advisor

Royal Society of Chemistry

Dr Neil Robinson

Private Secretary to the Executive Chair

Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC)

Miss Harriet Rushton

Maritime Environmental Protection Adviser

MOD (Navy Command)

Miss Lyndsey Scott

Software Engineer


Miss Charlotte Stewart

Smart Water Systems Engineer

Anglian Water

Dr Pamela Swiatlowska

Postdoctoral Researcher

Queen Mary University London

Ms Liz Wainwright

Industry Partnerships Manager (Mathematics)

University of Bristol

Dr Helen Walker

Neutron Instrument Scientist

ISIS Neutron & Muon Source, STFC, UKRI

Miss Emily Warren-Barratt

Senior Private Secretary to the Chief Scientific Officer for England


Dr Fiona Whiting

Senior Scientist