Notable People

The Trustee Board 2016

The Trustee Board members met for the first time in 2016. They were Sir Donald Brydon, Lord Haskel, Patrick McHugh, Baroness O’Neill of Bengarve, Chi Onwurah MP for Newcastle upon Tyne Central and Tony Quigley (Honorary Treasurer).The Earl of Selborne was the chair, other notable chairs from the House of Lords include, Lord Lloyd of Kilgerran, Lord Butterworth, Lord Jenkin of Roding, the Earl of Selborne and Lord Willetts.

Representatives of the research community

Other Council places were by invitation and included representatives of the  research community (for example Professor Polina Bayvel, Sir Leszek Borysiewicz), the justice system (Sir Brian Neill, Lord Lloyd of Berwick, Sir Hugh Laddie, Lord Justice Birrs), industry (Lord Haskel, Robert Hawley, Sir Tony Cleaver, Sir Peter Williams), former Permanent Secretaries (Sir Geoffrey Chipperfield, Sir John Caines, Sir Hugh Taylor). medical sciences (Sir Peter Lachmann) and engineering (Lord Broers, Lord Browne). 

Ministers for Science, Research and Innovation

Ministers for Science, Research and Innovation (Lord Sainsbury of Turville, Norman Lamb, Lord Drayson, Lord Willetts and George Freeman) often spoke at Foundation debates and workshops. GCSAs and DGs (Sir William Stewart, Lord May, Sir John Beddington Sir David King, Sir Mark Walport and Sir Patrick Vallance) were particularly helpful to the Foundation. 

Notable council members and vice presidents

Other notable council members and vice presidents were Nobel Laurates Lord Todd, Sir Paul Nurse, Venki Ramakrishnan and other Peers – Lord Quirk, Lord Soulsby, Lord Broers, Lord Rees, Lord May, Lord Stern, Lord Haskel, Baroness O’Neill of Bengarve. Industrialists include Sir Dick Morris (Deputy Chair), David Moorhouse (Deputy Chair), Sir Donald Brydon, Government Chief Scientific Advisers – Sir John Beddington, Sir Dave King, Sir Mark Walport – Presidents of the Academies – Sir Michael Attire, Sir Adrian Smith (The Royal Society), Sir Den Davies, and Sir Jim McDonald, Dame Ann Dowling, Sir Adam Roberts and Departmental Chief Scientific Advisers – Sir Chris Whitty, Dame Sally Davies, Sir Bob Watson, Sir Ian Boyd, Professor Frank Kelly, Sir Robin Grimes, Professor Brian Collins, Sir David Mackay, Professor John Loughhead, Dr Mike Short, Professor Charlotte Watts, Professor Jennifer Rubin, Professor Peter Halligan, Professor Paul Wiles, Sir Bernard Silverman and Professor Jeremy Watson.

Publishers of debate outcomes

Hakan Altinisik designed and maintained the website. The summaries were written by former Permanent Secretaries from Whitehall departments and the Scottish Executive. Sir Geoffrey Chipperfield wrote most of the summaries. Sir John Caines, Sir Hugh Taylor, Sir David Omand, Sir Crispin Tickell, Jeff Gill and others were always happy to volunteer to write the summary.

Memorable Events


  1. 12th March, 2010: Astronauts Neil Armstrong, Jim Lovell, Gene Cernan meet the next generation.  The first man on the Moon, the commander of Apollo 13, and the last man on the Moon, came to London to meet young scientists, eminent research professors, and Whitehall officials.
  2. 26th October, 2005: British and Norwegian Oil and Gas Industry Collaboration Conference opened by the King of Norway and Prince Philip, HRH The Duke of Edinburgh. 300 delegates from Norway and the UK attended the conference.
  3. 11th September, 2012: The future strategy for the management of mental health in the UK. (Lord Layard,  Sir Simon Wessely and Sir Bruce Keogh)
  4. 12th January, 2016: The Nurse Review of the Research Councils set out the argument for the seven Research Councils, Innovate UK and Research England (the research support part of HEFCE) to be merged into a single entity(Sir Paul Nurse, Professor Philip Nelson, Gareth Davies and Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell).
  5. 18th October, 2017: Lord Heseltine, Lord Hennessy and Lord Willetts debated the statement “Searching for the Holy Grail of a science and innovation strategy that makes a difference”.  An intern from GCHQ supported the preparations for this meeting by reviewing the science strategies published since 1945 and their impact.

Facility Tours

Visits were also organised to tours of a facility. Examples were a visit the Addenbrookes hospital in Cambridge looking at the interface between research and medical care (Sir Keith Peters), Ford Dagenham (Minister for manufacturing) – future of manufacturing in the UK, drug discovery at AstraZeneca (Sir Mene Pangalos), Diamond Light Source – future of infrastructure supporting UK science both in the UK and internationally (Professor John Wood), Christ’s College, Cambridge – career paths for research scientists in the UK (Professor Frank Kelly), Trinity College, Cambridge future of nuclear power (Lord Rees, Dr Bob Hawley) and Manchester University – support for mid-sized companies (Dame Nancy Rothwell).